Tchaikovsky "Andante Cantabile"

I have decided that we will be working on Tchaikovsky's "Andante Cantabile" from his String Quartet No. 1, Op. 11. I have one single goal for us with this piece: to achive the most BEAUTIFUL tone and sound we have ever produced. The Andante Cantabile is the second movement of a four-movement string quartet. It is very often performed by itself (without the other movements), and it is often done in a string orchestra setting. 1. Go to our Roster page to see seating for this piece (seating arrangement "C"). 2. go to our Library page. Download and print your part (make sure to print only the second movement "Andante Cantabile." It should be 2 or 3 pages long. 3. Watch this incredibly beautiful

Bartók "Romanian Folk Dances"

Hi everybody. Good work on our first read-through of Bartk's Romanian Folk Dances. First, a few words about the composer: Béla Bartók, from Hungary, lived from 1881 to 1945. He is one of the most important composers of the 20th Century, and arguably the most important Hungarian composer ever (next to Liszt, perhaps). He was a huge fan of folk music from different parts of the world. Some people say he was the first "ethnomusicologist." Read more about him here. Bartók's Romanian Folk Dances were written originally for piano solo, based on popular tunes from... you guessed it: Romania. The pieces have been transcribed for lost of different ensembles, including the arrangement by Arthur Willne

Contact Us

Tel: 601-376-9760


  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© Copyright 2020 by 

The Mississippi Youth Symphony Orchestra


MYSO is an educational program of The Mississippi Symphony Orchestra




P.O. Box 2052

Jackson, MS 39225